Teaching & Learning

Woodlands Primary School is required to adhere to the Kindergarten to Year 10 Western Australian (WA) Curriculum which was developed by the School Curriculum and Standards Authority (SCSA) and adapted from the Australian Curriculum.

The curriculum provides a coherent and comprehensive set of content and achievement standards which are used to plan learning programs, assess student progress and report to parents. It has been designed to meet the needs of students in Western Australia.

There are eight learning areas that encompass the WA Curriculum:




Humanities & Social Sciences

including Civics and Citizenship, Economics and Business, Geography, History, Work Studies



The Arts

Health & Physical Education


including Design and Technology, Digital Technologies

For further information on the Kindergarten to Year 10 WA Curriculum including the guiding principles for teaching, learning and assessment, what students will learn and how they will be assessed please click on the following link https://parent.scsa.wa.edu.au/what-will-my-child-learn